Healthy Life - Mind, Body and Soul

Reviews

Back to Reviews

 Subscribe to our Newsletter

 

 

 

Wellbeing Reviews

From general health to spirituality, nutrition to music for relaxation, pregnancy and childbirth to self-development, and much, much more, we are sure we have titles to interest everyone. Like every section of Healthy Life Essex we shall continue to add to our reviews, and are always pleased to receive your views, comments and suggestions.

If you have a book, CD/DVD, therapy etc., that you would like reviewed please contact us and we will do our best to include it within these pages.

 

Reviews

BOOKS


LISTENING TO THE OTHERLISTENING TO THE OTHER
A new approach to counselling and listening skills
By Caroline Braziers

This is a worthy subject. Though being a good listener sounds easy, the art requires considerable training. Listening is a powerful method of caring and supporting someone who is in need of quality time and attention. When a person feels that another person has understood their pain, loss or unhappiness, they are often able to let go of the past and move on. Many useful exercises are provided.

Caroline Brazier comes from a Methodist Christian background and holds a Masters degree in counselling. She is an ordained Buddhist minister and lectures worldwide. She works with the Amida Trust and Training Institute based in Leicestershire and North London and has written a number of books with her husband, David. I was particularly impressed with the Japanese Buddhist influence, called Nei Quan which has an unusual perspective for us Westerners, but is, no doubt, a powerful tool for personal growth and spiritual development. Nei Quan focuses on creating autonomy and achievement and it also confronts those who feel disillusioned or dissatisfied with their lot in life. For instance, it is asked of those examining their first three years of life: What did your mother do for you? What did you do for her in return? What trouble did you cause? Powerful stuff, eh? .

ISBN 9781846941917
Published by O books - www.o-books.net (£12.99)

Reviewed: October 2009
Reviewed by Wendy Stokes - Wendy is a local writer for New Age magazines.

Back to top


FINDING HEAVEN HEREFINDING HEAVEN HERE
By John C Robinson

Dr John Robinson holds two doctorates as an American interfaith minister and as a psychologist and in this book, he explains very simply, the complex subject of finding Heaven here on Earth. This is the place where psychology meets spirituality. The book allows the reader to touch what feels like the spiritual realms, if only for a moment. Heaven is a state of mind, and if we can spend time in this beautiful place, the trappings of the modern commercial world fade into the distance and are replaced with peace, contentment and appreciation. The book offers the equivalent of a home study course in mysticism.
Dr Robinson provides the reader with dozens of spiritual exercises that help to clear away the obstacles that prevent us from experiencing the wonder of life and the presence of the Divine. He answers common questions at the end of the book which help to clarify how we can improve the quality of our life by spending time meditating on the higher realms of consciousness. Dr Robinson has written several books on allied subjects. He facilitates conferences, workshops and retreats in the US and is especially interested teaching within the men’s movement. His next book will focus on the spirituality of ageing. .

ISBN 975-1-84694-156-6
Published by O books - www.o-books.net (£9.99)

Reviewed: October 2009
Reviewed by Wendy Stokes - Wendy is a local writer for New Age magazines.

Back to top


FINDING HEAVEN HEREDEEP EQUALITY
living in the flow of natural rhythms
by Jocelyn Chaplin

Feminist philosopher and therapist, Jocelyn Chaplin, is a well known speaker and writer. In this book, she describes how we can only achieve fairness and justice in society by aiming for vertical rather than hierarchical behaviour. Our earliest and most ancient memories are of the rhythm of our planet and of our own bodies, by becoming aware of these rhythms we can improve our wellbeing. If we can flow in harmony with our moods, our bodily energies and our circumstances, we can experience more gentle and enjoyable relationships and we can be happier and healthier.

Jocelyn has provided several of her paintings which demonstrate in art the flowing and curving, weaving and wandering of her philosophy. She is co-founder of the Serpent Institute which promotes personal transformation and social change..

ISBN 978-1-84694-096-5
Published by O books - www.o-books.net (£9.99)

Reviewed: October 2009
Reviewed by Wendy Stokes - Wendy is a local writer for New Age magazines.

Back to top


Discover Yourself on the Yellow Brick Road - by Wendy Dashwood-QuickDiscover Yourself on the Yellow Brick Road
7 Core Principles of Career Success by Wendy Dashwood-Quick

Wendy has experienced many highs and lows in her own life. In her career, she attained high levels of success as a PA but began to feel that she needed something new. When she was made redundant in 2003 she grabbed the opportunity with open arms and realised that Coaching was an area she wanted to explore. She now has a thriving business and thoroughly enjoys helping her clients to reach their full potential.

Wendy’s new book puts her skills and experiences in to a very easy to understand and follow format. After all, we spend a large part of our lives working, so why not make sure it is a happy, fulfilling experience?

Throughout the book, Wendy uses three ‘modern day heroes’ as they begin to come to terms with their own unsatisfactory situations and mentally work through processes to make changes in their lives. At least one of the characters is sure to resonate with most people, making the book extremely easy to relate to.

Read this book and then keep it to dip in and out of: the principles and tools Wendy provides, if used conscientiously will, will certainly help most people lead a much more rewarding life.

ISBN 1-905430-59-0
Available on Amazon.

Reviewed: July 2009

Back to top


The Low-GL Diet Bible
by Patrick Holford.

The Low-GL Diet BibleI can understand why this is called a bible. For a start, it is a huge tome of 445 pages. But this authoritative book not only provides a whole section of menus and delicious recipes (including such yummy things as chocolate ice cream and chicken fajitas) it very clearly explains all the science behind the low-GL concept. It also contains several useful appendices including a Body Mass Index and a comprehensive Glycemic Load of Foods.

But this book isn’t just about losing weight. It is arguably the most effective ‘weight-loss diet’ you could possibly have but, unlike many other diets, the focus is on optimising health.

Patrick divides the book in to 5 sections:
Part One explains the science behind the low-GL diet and exposes 10 common diet myths such as “the only way to lose weight is to eat less fat and less calories” and “you can’t change your metabolism.” Unfortunately, the first myth tends to be the orthodox approach to weight loss and may partially explain the increasing obesity epidemic.

Part Two concentrates on the health benefits of the Holford diet, once again all backed up by science. Many diets can actually be damaging for your health. Patrick explains how, by sticking to the low-GI diet, you can “undamage your health.”

Part Three expands on the five principles of the low-GL diet and drills down further into the science. For example, an analysis of the chemical structure of different types of sugars shows that not all sugars are created equal!

Part Four provides a complete action plan – an easy guide full of tips to help you break old habits and start a new food and exercise regime.

Part Five contains menus and recipes as mentioned above.

If you are really serious about losing weight and being the healthiest you have ever been, this book is definitely for you. Now, let me check out the shopping list on page 260!

ISBN 978-0-7699-4167-3
Available at www.piatkus.co.uk and www.patrickholford.com

Reviewed: June 2009

Back to top


Food Glorious FoodFood Glorious Food
by Patrick Holford & Fiona McDonald Joyce.

Patrick Holford is founder of the Institute of Optimum Nutrition (ION) and one of the UK’s best known nutritionists. Fiona McDonald Joyce trained at ION and also at the Leith School of Food and Wine. I believe this makes her a fully qualified nutritionist foodie!!

This dynamic duo have product the most fantastic cookbook. Yes, this will sit on the shelf alongside my other cookbooks (I have to confess to being a bit of a cookbook addict!) and I shall be just as likely to dip into Food Glorious Food if I am looking for mouthwatering recipes for a dinner party as I would any of my other treasured cookbooks.

Recipes are inspired from around the world, so you can still have your favourite Indian, Caribbean or Chinese food. And the recipes really are a delight. You will find everything from Thai Fish Cakes to Chocolate Hazelnut Brownies, Greek-style Stuffed Pork Tenderloin to Bloody Mary, Sea Bass with Braised Fennel and Roast New Potatoes to Strawberry and Banana Cheesecake and many more. So please, don’t think of this as a diet book. This is a book that celebrates the pleasure of food.

Food Glorious Food takes this pleasure a step further. Now you can enjoy delicious food that also positively promotes health. Part One of the book is called ‘The Health Bit’ and Patrick explains more about the various nutrients we need; the GI (glycemic index) and low-GL (glycemic load)foods; superfood secrets; cholesterol-busting foods; cooking methods; and much more. There are helpful illustrations and charts throughout. Not only will this information help anyone who is watching their weight and wishing to boost energy levels, but eating a low-GL diet is also proven to prevent diabetes, heart disease and cancer.

Good nutrition is about using fresh, high quality ingredients which provide maximum flavour as well as maximum nutrients. In Part Two ‘The Delicious Bit’, Fiona expands on the information already presented by Patrick. She discusses the cuisines of different countries and highlights the superfoods from each of those cultures, as well as possible pitfalls; she provides menu ideas for entertaining; and then the recipes begin in earnest! Fiona provides a foreword to each recipe describing the benefits of the individual ingredients and also serving suggestions. Cook’s Notes at the end provide allergy information (a large percentage of the recipes are wheat and dairy free, many are gluten free), indicate suitability for vegetarians, and whether or not the recipes can be made in advance and / or frozen.

Dr Fedon Alexander Linberg, author of The Greek Doctor’s Diet says “Food Glorious Food’ will revolutionise the way you think about healthy eating.” I wholeheartedly agree! Buy yourself a copy now, and a few extra copies for Christmas presents!.

ISBN 978-0-7499-0995-6
Available at www.piatkus.co.uk and www.patrickholford.com

Reviewed: November 2008

Back to top


The Mind CoachThe Mind Coach
by Jamil Qureshi.

Another self-development book, perhaps lots of ideas you have heard before. But one of Jamil’s opening comments is “Most self-help books and programmes don’t work very well.” A somewhat loaded and negative statement! So why is this book different?

Much of the difference is in the delivery. Jamil’s Mind Mapping concept is a very positive, common sense approach to life. Here, the emphasis is on making just a tiny change at a time, unlike other books and programmes which, he says, encourage you to initiate major lifestyle changes.

The book is very easy to read and is littered with real-life examples that are easy to relate to. You are also encouraged to dip in and out of the book, rather than ‘make sure you read this from cover to cover’ and to treat it somewhat irreverently! This means using highlighters, scribbling notes, even tearing out pages!

Well worth reading.

ISBN 978-0-09-192357-0
Available at www.rbooks.co.uk and www.jamilqureshi.com

Reviewed: November 2008

Back to top


Stress-busting for ChildrenStress-busting for Children
(the best kept secret since Father Christmas)

by Rita Sparks (aka Rita Stanley of Grange Hypnotherapy).

A fantastic little book! I think this should be compulsory reading for all parents and guardians: actually, anyone who comes into contact with children.

Rita begins by explaining how a child’s mind works. She explains it quite simply and it becomes all so obvious; and yet we often don’t realise the effect our own words or actions may be having. Most of us just don’t understand how emotions evoked from what children see, hear and feel (frequently real but often imagined or misunderstood) are repressed by the child deep into their subconscious mind, potentially causing a myriad of behavioural problems. None of us are exempt. This can unwittingly happen in even the most loving of home environments.

Rita strongly believes that parents of young children can obtain excellent results, often better than the therapist, by doing exercises with the child to remove their unconscious stress. The answer, she says, is to deal with it symbolically; but it needs to be done in such a way that the child is unaware, hence the subtitle to this gem of a book. And Rita provides the necessary tools: some well crafted stories that can be used to stop the bedwetting, the nightmares, the fears and phobias, whatever the problem is. But it is always the underlying emotion, the anger, the frustration, the fear, that is buried deep in the subconscious that is actually being dealt with, not the symptom. Cause and effect, as Rita says.

ISBN 0-9548195-0-0
Available online at www.stress-busting.com

Reviewed: Summer 2008

Back to top


Facing NeuralgiaFacing Neuralgia
by Wendy Evans.

Wendy’s has written this short factual story in the hope that anyone else in a similar situation may benefit.

Wendy was a vivacious, dedicated primary school teacher when she was suddenly struck down with a mysterious illness. This was followed, over the next 18 months, by a series of mis-diagnosis by the medical profession starting with accusations of malingering and finishing with brain surgery when she was finally correctly diagnosed with vagoglossopharyngeal neuralgia, a rare and debilitating nervous disease! But even this did not prove to be the cure.

When the orthodox medical profession failed her she turned to alternative therapies. She now has treatments such as Bowen technique, cranial sacral therapy, energy healing and remedial massage. These have helped her regain her life and her future now looks much brighter. From being bedridden and taking huge quantities of medication, Wendy is now off the drugs and is pregnant – all thanks to alternative and complementary therapies!

ISBN 1-904444-21-0
Or call Apex Publishing on 01255 428500

Reviewed: Summer 2008

Back to top


Kissed by AngelsKissed by Angels
The Biography of Lorraine Butler by Janet Lee.

Another book that made me laugh and made my cry!

Most people would say Lorraine Butler has had a tragic life. It has certainly been full of tragedy and heartache, yet she considers herself privileged to have been given the very special gift of mediumship: Lorraine describes her personal traumas as part of the essential journey to a life enriched with purpose.

The book follows Lorraine’s life starting from her happy but poor childhood. She was always a bit strange, odd things seemed to happy to her, but she was very dismissive of them. She would see and hear things that other people could not, but never understood or really acknowledged what was happening to her. A rather loud and forthright person, the ‘spirit world’ was not on her agenda!

After the loss of her second son, Lorraine was unsurprisingly a physical and mental wreck. At the point of an attempted overdose, she turned instead to the Spiritualist Church for help. Was it instinct or another power leading her in that direction? This proved to be the turning point in her life. At first she was desperately in need of messages from her sons, but soon found she was receiving messages for others.

Today, Lorraine Butler is a well respected medium and her life is dedicated to working with spirit and providing others with messages of hope.

If you have doubts about the spirit world do read this book. The author herself was rather dismissive of mediums but since encountering ‘creepy Lorraine’ – as she calls her - all that has changed.

ISBN 1-904444-87-3,
Or call Apex Publishing on 01255 428500

Reviewed: Summer 2008

Back to top


If I can you canIf I Can, You Can!
by Constance Turner

Back in the 60’s, Constance Turner thought that getting pregnant and married was a good way to escape the life she had at home with her parents. Years of dominance and mental abuse from her husband followed.

For many years, she did the best she could and continued to convince herself, and those around her, that everything was fine. An all too familiar story! Admitting the extent of the problems to others is often the first step: sometimes it is difficult to accept that this does not make you a failure. It took courage for Constance to finally leave him and start to re-build her life, but now she is happier than she has ever been in her life.

“If I Can, You Can” is written as encouragement for anyone facing a similar situation to take those brave steps and break free from years of torment. It is written with passion, honesty and a great deal of humour. It is only a short book, but it had me crying and laughing in equal measures.

Relationships always have their ups and downs and certainly need to be worked at, but if you have been in a destructive relationship for a long time this little book might help you to take those first steps to freedom.

ISBN 1-4259-2348-8

Reviewed: Summer 2008

Back to top


500 of the Most Important Health Tips You’ll Ever Need500 of the Most Important Health Tips You’ll Ever Need
by Hazel Courteney with Stephen Langley and Gareth Zeal

This superb reference book provides an A-Z of alternative health hints covering everything from allergies to age spots, glue ear to gout, and mercury fillings to multiple sclerosis. Each section contains a summary of the ailment followed by Foods to Avoid, Friendly Foods, Useful Supplements and Helpful Hints. The Cancer section is particularly informative. Available at: www.aireau.co.uk Tel: 01420 473383
ISBN 1-904991-37-8

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 7. Summer 2007)

Back to top


Simple ChangesSimple Changes
Your 100 ways to a happier, healthier life

by Phillip Day

Phillip Day refers to himself as “an angry young man – ok, not so young now!” and for many years he has been fighting battles in the realms of health and politics over issues that are deliberately withheld or misreported to the public. But for all that, he also has a great sense of humour.
Simple Changes is an easy read, with lots of snippets to make you smile, and it is certainly not intended to be taken as rules set in stone. You feel as if Phillip is actually having a gentle conversation with you, and it’s quite startling when he jumps on his high-horse now and again. And why not? There are just so many subjects he is passionate about!
Whether you agree with all Phillip’s sentiments or not, Simple Changes will certainly provide food for thought.
Phillip Day is founder of The Campaign for Truth in Medicine and each month sends out Eclub, its global online magazine. If you would like to receive this newsletter you can register at www.credence.org. We would certainly recommend it as a great source of unbiased information about a variety of issues, mostly health related – and yet sometimes quite diverse.

Available at www.credence.org ISBN 1-904015-20-4

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 7. Summer 2007)

Back to top


Gut and Psychology SyndromeGut and Psychology Syndrome
by Dr Natasha Campbell-McBride
MD, MMEDSci (neurology), MMedSci (nutrition)

Dr Natasha Campbell-McBride is founder of The Cambridge Nutrition Clinic which specialises in nutrition for children and adults with behavioural and learning disabilities, and adults with digestive and immune system disorders. She is also the parent of an autistic child and is therefore well placed to understand the challenges other parents face. Her sometimes controversial book presents in depth research in to how the gut works, and how poor gut function impacts so tremendously on both physical and brain function of children and adults.

The book also includes ‘recommended foods’, ‘foods to avoid’ and some really good recipes. If you have children with behavioural problems, or are an adult with digestive problems (and what adult doesn’t seem to have digestive problems these days?), you will find this book invaluable. In fact, anyone who appreciates that “all disease begins in the gut” (Hippocrates), will also find the book extremely interesting. Definitely a reference book for both the family and the practitioner. tel: 01353 723234 ISBN 0-9548520-0-1

[Dr Natasha Campbell-McBride is also the scientist who developed the ‘Advanced Probiotic’. She recommends supplementation with a strong therapeutic probiotic as an essential for healing the gut.
For further information about the ‘Advanced Probiotic’ telephone 0800 0435740.]

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 6. Spring 2007)

Back to top


Wellness Our BirthrightWellness Our Birthright
by Vivien Clere Green

The sub title to this book is ‘How to Give a Baby the Best Start for Life’. If you are thinking of starting a family and are determined to give your child the best possible physical and emotional start to life, this book is a must read. And if you have a young family, particularly if there are health and / or behavioural problems with your children, this book will also provide valuable information.

In today’s society it seems that pregnancy and childbirth are frequently managed in a way that purveys mixed messages and causes unnecessary fear. Vivien is a Natural Health Consultant, Practitioner and Speaker who takes a holistic and integrated approach to health and nutrition. She has also given natural birth to five healthy babies, including twins born in her early forties. By reading her book, women should be able to approach pregnancy with ease, and have complete trust and confidence in the natural birthing process
ISBN 978-1-59930-020-7

available at: www.viviencleregreen.com or Tel: 01491 413178

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 6. Spring 2007)

Back to top


Natural Highs for body & soulNatural Highs for body & soul
by Mary Lambert

The sub-title to this book is ’70 instant energizers to banish everyday energy lows’ and that, in a nutshell, is what it provides!
The great thing about this little book is that it is so realistic. That is, it might be lovely to swan off for an exotic spa holiday or have a weekly massage, but the majority of us have neither the time nor the money to indulge ourselves! The ‘exercises’ suggested are all very easy and only take 5 or 10 minutes. You will also find refreshing teas to make, oils and herbs to use effectively, and a host of other tips. And to make it even easier, the energizers are divided into six specific periods of the day – from ‘Wake up fresh’ to ‘Late-night cleansers’.

If you are fed up with feeling tired and stressed, this book is a must buy.
Available at all good bookshops ISBN 0-600-61089-6

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 5. Winter 2006/07)

Back to top


Dolphin HealingDolphin Healing
by Horace Dobbs

Dr Horace Dobbs is an internationally renowned dolphin expert and Director of International Dolphin Watch. In 1974 he had a well-paid job in the pharmaceutical industry – until fete intervened. He had been fascinated with dolphins for some time, but when his 13year old son was picked up by a dolphin and given a ride around the harbour he desperately wanted to find out more about these incredible mammals. When a few weeks later he was unexpectedly made redundant he knew he wanted to research and work with the dolphins. This book tells his story, and the heart-warming stories of many of the wonderful encounters he has witnessed; stories that will bring tears to your eyes. It explores the healing power of dolphins, and possible scientific explanations. It is a wonderful story to read yourself, and to read to others. Please buy this book and share it! Available at most good bookstores
ISBN 0-7499-2079-3

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 4. Autumn 2006)

Back to top


DianeticsDianetics (Book & DVD)
by L. Ron Hubbard

Dianetics means “through the soul” (from the Greek dia, through and nous, soul.) It is further defined as “what the soul is doing to the body.” The theory of Dianetics is that each of us stores sets of physically or mentally painful events from previous experiences when in an unconscious or semi-conscious state. These moments are called engrams and are stored in our reactive (as opposed to analytical) mind. When something of a similar nature triggers the reactive mind to remember the engram, a negative and frequently irrational behaviour pattern occurs. Does this sound familiar? Can you remember times when you seem to be acting totally out of character and have no idea why? The author says that with Dianetics you can learn to control your reactive mind and no longer have to live with insecurity, negative thoughts, depressions and irrational behaviour.

The DVD
This is subtitled “A Visual Guidebook to the Mind”. The forty minute DVD explains what Dianetics is, provides many examples, and shows how two people can work together to begin to unlock the secrets of the reactive mind.

The BOOK
This 636 page tome, subtitled “The Modern Science of Mental Health” is in three parts: Book 1-The Goal of Man: Book 2 - The Single Source of all Inorganic Mental and Organic Psychosomatic Ills: Book 3 - Therapy. The last section is by far the largest.
The author says the application of a science is an art. He further explains that Dianetics is extremely simple, and yet each individual case can be extremely complex as each person and his inherent personality is different.
This in-depth book makes fascinating reading amid claims that Dianetics brings dramatic and permanent improvement to people all over the world. Do also look at the web site. If you purchase the book and register there are also free online courses and professional help available.
ISBN 1-903820-14-6 www.dianetics.org

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 7.Summer 2007)

Back to top


A course in Astral Travel and DreamsA course in Astral Travel and Dreams
by Belzebuub (Mark H Pritchard)

This is definitely a book for someone who already has a profound fascination with the different dimensions, the ‘hidden side of life’. It not only explains the meaning of dreams, near death experiences, and out of body experiences, but also shows you how to have these experiences yourselves: how to navigate the Astral plane! There are exercises at the end of the book, and it is accompanied by a free online course. If psychic phenomena are ‘your thing’, then this book is a must.

Buy online at www.absolutepublishinggroup.com

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 4. Autumn 2006)

Back to top


The Book of the SoulThe Book of the Soul
by Ian Lawton

This is an extremely well written, serious, daring and thought provoking book. Ian Lawton has drawn upon an amazing amount of scientific and psychiatric research that makes his conclusions very difficult to dismiss. Read this book and your views on spirituality may be changed forever!

Can be ordered from
www.ianlawton.com. ISBN 0-9549176-0-X

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2. Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top


French Women Don't Get FatFrench Women Don't Get Fat
by Mireille Guiliano

I loved this book, and so have all the friends I have passed it on to. Mireille is president and CEO of Clicquot Inc., so perhaps it comes as no surprise that she enjoys, and also recommends, champagne as an accompaniment to most meals! While we may not agree, and are certainly unlikely to aspire to this, all her other suggestions make perfect sense.

Mireille loves food, as do most French women, but the keys to good food are freshness and quality. When she extols in detail the virtues of fresh produce from local markets you can almost taste and smell the lushness. If you need to change the way you eat, this book is an excellent, light-hearted way to learn how to enjoy food and stay slim and healthy
ISBN 0-701-17805-1

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2. Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top


The SecretThe Secret
by Rhonda Byrne

If there is any area in your life that you are not completely happy with, then try reading this book. The whole purpose of The Secret is to enable everyone to create lives of prosperity and abundance. But if you want real, tangible results don’t just read the book – you have to take action and change your mind set!

Throughout the centuries, great people have been aware of The Secret, but it is only now that it has been revealed to the world. Twenty-four teachers are featured in this book and they explain the Power of the Mind, the Law of Attraction and more. Feeling a little sceptical? Then be aware that the discoveries of quantum physics and new science are in total harmony with the teaching of The Secret. Everything in the Universe is energy and each of us has a significant role to play. We should never underestimate the power within us.

Available at www.aireau.co.uk ISBN 1-58270-170-9
Also available as a feature length movie and a four-hour audio book

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 7. Summer 2007)

Back to top


Before I get old and WrinklyBefore I get old and Wrinkly
by Sheila Steptoe

You don’t seem to be alone when you are reading Sheila Steptoe’s book; it is as if she is in the room with you having a chat, probably enjoying a glass or too of red wine! The book is divided in two halves. The first half recounts her life story, from sailing along quite nicely to traumas of illness, bereavements and family separation – stories many of us can relate to. The second half is a book of inspiration telling how she found her inner peace. ISBN 1-4208-2736-7

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2. Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top


CD's and DVD's


Oneness
by Turiya

Oneness by TuriyaTuriya, a spiritual music band, was formed in 2002 by Giles Bryant. Giles is passionate about healing, yoga and meditation and this is very evident in the nine beautiful tracks included on this album. Some tracks are purely instrumental; others include sacred chants and spiritual songs. The wonderful harmonies created reflect the peace, love and harmony Giles and his fellow band members find within themselves and endeavour to send out to the rest of the world. Singing bowls and bells, chimes and tuning forks all add to the magical sounds of this highly recommended CD.

The cover of the album says: “This collection of gentle healing music is ideal to enhance relaxation and the practice of healing therapies, yoga and meditation.” But please do not restrict yourself. I would suggest this beautiful music can be listened to and enjoyed at any time!

CD available from www.gilesbryant.com

Reviewed: July 2009

Back to top


Accepting Yourself by Dawn BreslinAccepting Yourself
by Dawn Breslin

This is volume one of ten in Dawn Breslin’s Confidence for Life series, an extension of the Affirmations to Change Your Life Forever CD reviewed in the August newsletter. The series aims to increase the listener’s self-esteem and confidence, starting with learning to like and accept ourselves exactly as we are. Dawn’s gentle, lilting voice continues to take us on a journey of self-empowerment. She also provides simple exercises to re-enforce the message..

The CD can be purchased from www.dawnbreslin.com

Reviewed: Autumn 2008

Back to top


The speech IMPhypnoIMP™
MP3 range

What a brilliant idea! The Hypno IMP is described as a totally portable therapy session – and it really is. Hypno, of course, stands for hypnosis. IMP stands for Improve Mindset Performance. Specific hypnotherapy programmes, written by professional practising hypnotherapists, are pre-loaded onto MP3 players to make them easy totally portable and easy to use. Try them in the car (if you are not driving!); an airport lounge; dentist’s waiting room; even when you are cooking the dinner or doing the ironing!

I tried The Speech Imp. It arrived in a box just as I was dashing off to the station. Once on the train I took out the IMP and was delighted to find it was ready to use in minutes.

Many people have fears and anxieties about public speaking and I’m certainly no exception. It is something I have to do more and more often these days and I certainly found The Speech Imp really helpful. Not only did I get a very good hypnotherapy session, I also got a useful MP3 player that I can add favourite tracks to if I wish. The key to success with hypnotherapy is repetition so I take my IMP out with me and frequently have a refresher session. Exceptional value for money at £19.99 (plus p&p if ordering online).

The IMP range covers various subjects including The Slim Imp, The Best Man Imp, The Quit Imp and The Go Imp (for driving tests and also any time you might feel a bit nervous about driving.)

Imps are available at some airport lounges, various retail outlets,
or online at www.hypnoimp.co.uk

Reviewed: Summer 2008

Back to top


Affirmations to Change Your Life ForeverAffirmations to Change Your Life Forever
by Dawn Breslin

I have done a certain amount of self-development courses over the years and quotes such as the following certainly spring to mind:
"It's our attitude in life that determines life's attitude toward us."
--Earl Nightingale
"You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe,
deserve your love and affection." -Buddha

It is easy to say and to ‘know’ these things – but sometimes in the busy lives we lead we forget to put them in to practice. I have found that, by listening to Dawn Breslin’s ‘Affirmations to Change Your Life Forever’, I am constantly being reminded of thought processes that can help me live my life to the full.
Whether you are totally new to self-development or a seasoned ‘developer’, I am sure you will find this CD invaluable.
Dawn describes life as a hurdle race where we face challenges everyday that can bring us down. Does this sound familiar? Listening to her affirmations will help us to harness our thinking processes and change our focus. This will help us feel better about ourselves, be stronger and more able to cope with life’s daily challenges, and empower us to take our lives a higher level.
The affirmations are delivered in Dawn’s lovely soft, lilting accent and while it quite definitely has a calming effect it is not going to send you to sleep. I play it when I am taking a longish journey in the car. I know other people who play it when they have the children in the car and make a point of discussing the various affirmations with them. It’s a great way to start building awareness and confidence in young people.

The CD can be purchased from www.dawnbreslin.com

Reviewed: Summer 2008

Back to top


The Dolphins TouchThe Dolphin’s Touch
Featuring Dr Horace Dobbs

We have previously featured the book Dolphin Healing by Dr Horace Dobbs, the internationally renowned dolphin expert and director of International Dolphin Watch. This specially extended version of the television film documents the wonderful healing power of the dolphins. Dr Dobbs takes three clinically depressed people to meet a lone wild dolphin in Dingle Bay, County Kerry, Southern Ireland. The extensive use of music and breathtaking photography, including underwater sequences never seen before, really capture the magic of the dolphin and the healing process.

Available at the Dolphin Shop at www.idw.org Tel: 01482 645789

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 7, Summer 2007)

Back to top


Tears from the MoonTears from the Moon
by Wychazel

Music so gentle yet so full of character and contradictions! It is a meeting of traditional acoustics and modern synthesis using atmospheric effects, keyboards, classical, flamenco and electro-classical guitars, mandolin and assorted percussion (rattles, rainsticks, and windchimes). The percussion instruments give a gentle, lilting beat that provides the Shamanic influence throughout the CD. It is haunting, sometimes melancholy, as it takes you through a journey of auditory landscapes. It is uniquely relaxing and yet sublimely fills you with an intense energy. Each time I listen to this, and it has been played several times already, I glean ever more from it and fall deeper under its spell!
ISBN 1-84660-371-4

Available at www.newworldmusic.com or telephone 01986 891600

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 6, Spring 2007)

Back to top


Fairy NightsFairy Nights
by Patricia Spero

These are compositions of harp, flute, cello and keyboards. But it is the tranquil harp that really works its magic here, weaving alluring pictures of the enchanting heart of the Fairy Realm. This is not only a beautifully relaxing CD, it is also extremely romantic – seductive and yet playful at the same time!
ISBN 1-84650-374-9

Available at www.newworldmusic.com or telephone 01986 891600

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 6, Spring 2007)

Back to top


Kindred SpiritKindred Spirit
by Patrick Kelly

Patrick Kelly uses keyboards, classical and electric guitars, and samples to create music to ‘heal the soul and soothe anxiety’. This is a great album to use for meditation and really loose yourself!
ISBN 1-84650-374-9
Available at www.newworldmusic.com or telephone 01986 891600

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 6, Spring 2007)

Back to top


Perfect SleepPerfect Sleep
by Medwyn Goodall

This is a CD from The Life Style Series and is intended as an aid to therapists or for individual use. Track one includes evening bird song to help the body acknowledge that it is time to rest. Track two includes the calming sounds of a soft flowing stream - always relaxing and refreshing. These sounds are combined with delicate, repetitive notes of piano and guitars. Certainly music to encourage you to float away on a cloud of fluffy dreams! I shall play it more often.
Buy online at www.absolute-gifts.co.uk

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 5, Winter 2006/07)

Back to top


Magical HealingMagical Healing
by Fridrik Karlsson

This is a CD from Fridrik Karlsson’s ‘Feel Good Music’ collection. Magical Healing is designed to accompany various healing treatments, and as such is an ideal purchase for therapists. But it is also a wonderful CD for relaxation at home. While many records intended for this industry can be relaxing and soothing, often the actual music quality is lacking. Fridrik has been a professional musician for many years and has been involved in many prestigious music projects. He is also a Master Practitioner and has studied many therapies. With this background it is really not surprising that his range of wellbeing music is so delightful.

Buy online at www.thefeelgoodcollection.com

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 4.Autumn 2006)

Back to top


Gifts from the AngelsGifts from the Angels
by Lita de Alberdi

This is a 2 CD set with four absolutely beautiful meditations. If you are already familiar with meditation, and you are open to receive the healing power of angels, you will find this set an absolute delight. You will feel yourself absolutely bathed in colour, light, love and joy.

Lita is internationally known as a leading spiritual teacher. She has 30 years of study across Psychology and Sociology (in which she has a first class honours degree), Yoga, Meditation, Healing and Western Esoteric Mystical Traditions. She co-founded The School of Living Light with her husband Marco in 1994. As Lita will always tell you, there are many paths to spiritual growth - she is simply offering one way.

This CD can be purchased online at www.schoolofthelivinglight.co.uk

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 3.Summer 2006)

Back to top


Introduction to MeditationIntroduction to Meditation
by Lita de Alberdi

This CD has two very gentle meditations, suitable for complete beginners. Meditation is known to be a great stress reliever, so why not try this gentle CD and learn to relax?.

Lita is internationally known as a leading spiritual teacher. She has 30 years of study across Psychology and Sociology (in which she has a first class honours degree), Yoga, Meditation, Healing and Western Esoteric Mystical Traditions. She co-founded The School of Living Light with her husband Marco in 1994. As Lita will always tell you, there are many paths to spiritual growth - she is simply offering one way.

This CD can be purchased online at www.schoolofthelivinglight.co.uk

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 3.Summer 2006)

Back to top


spectrum statesspectrum states
by The Mosaic Orchestra

This is contemporary instrumental music with percussion, guitars, bass, mandolin, harp, clarinet, flute, recorders, Celtic whistles, glockenspiel, keyboards and cello. Quite unlike anything I have heard before and absolutely amazing! This CD is the result of extensive research into the nature, effects and significance of the colour spectrum. The music has been composed with the assistance of colour researchers. Sound, like light, carries energy and the tracks on this CD are designed to nourish different aspects of our physical, mental, emotional and physical lives.

To find out more about colour music, and to purchase this CD, visit www.worldmosaic.org

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 3.Summer 2006)

Back to top


FOR CHILDREN


Walk the Seasons with CharlieWalk the Seasons with Charlie
by C M Plumb

Either read this delightful book to your child or grandchild, or encourage them to read it aloud. They will find the easy repetitive rhyme, together with the lovely illustrations, quite appealing. Charlie is a pet dog, and he has various adventures through the seasons in the countryside. Each page introduces a new animal, insect or bird. It will also encourage them to think about the countryside environment.

Proceeds from this book will be used to preserve the countryside.
ISBN 0-9554242-0-8 or visit www.hejhog.co.uk

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 6. Spring 2007)

Back to top


Dilo in Lighthouse BayDilo in Lighthouse Bay
by Horace Dobbs

Dr Horace Dobbs is an internationally renowned dolphin expert. He is also the author of a number of books on dolphins, both fiction and non-fiction, including Dolphin Healing – a fascinating exploration of the healing power of these incredible mammals.

Dilo in Lighthouse Bay is the latest in Horace Dobbs’ series of Dilo children’s books. If you have not already introduced your children to them, they are missing a real treat. The story as always revolves around a typical children’s adventure. But the author brings so much more into this book. There are delightful descriptions of the creatures that inhibit the undersea world; there is technical equipment that is explained; a new oil rig starts the debate of progress versus environmental and ecological balance; and Dilo even experiences a “near-death” situation that opens a spiritual discussion. So much that can be discussed, yet nothing distracts from the fun of the adventure.
Available at all good bookstores.
ISBN 0-9541721-4-0

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 3. Summer 2006)

Back to top


Relax KidsRelax Kids
by Marneta Viegas

These CDs are an absolute delight. They are intended for children – but I was enthralled. The background music is soft and calming. Marneta Viegas’ soothing, dolce voice, telling enchanting stories and encouraging the imagination to blossom, is quite hypnotic. Each CD has approximately 16 by 5 minute tracks, and is ideal as an aid to bed-time routines or purely to encourage relaxation and visualisation at any time.

If you have children or grandchildren, or you are a teacher, these CDs are a must! Visit www.relaxkids.com for further information

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2. Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top


THERAPY REVIEW


Manual Lymphatic Drainage
with Lesley Guilfoyle

I recently had one of the most relaxing massages I have ever had. In fact, it was so relaxing I fell asleep, even though the purpose was for me to do a full review!

Lesley Guilfoyle works from her home in Ashingdon and has a fully equipped and dedicated therapy room. Lesley is one of a limited number of qualified Manual Lymphatic Therapists. She used the MLD (manual lymphatic drainage) techniques to give me a leg and face massage. I wasn’t suffering from any injury so it really was just a ‘chill-out’ massage for me – and boy was it effective! Even so, Lesley is very professional and always starts with a consultation before starting a treatment for a new client. I was no exception. ....More

Reviewed: by Jill Poet : September 2009

Back to top


NO HANDS massage
with Cathy Black

Cathy BlackCathy Black has been a nurse for over 35 years. She is also an experienced complementary therapist and one of a growing number who offer NO HANDS massage. I was delighted and rather intrigued when Cathy recently invited me (May 2009) to her therapy room to the rear of DK Hair on the London Road, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex to experience this new massage technique. How could this massage work properly without using hands, I wondered.

I have to say I was amazed. This style of massage is known as the ‘Gentle Giant’ of healing therapies and I can understand why. Some people like a strong massage; others prefer something gentle because they don’t like the pressure. NO HANDS manages to combine the two because it feels gentle and yet is goes deeper than any other type of massage....More

Reviewed: by Jill Poet : May 2009

Back to top


Shiatsu massage
with Gavin King

I was delighted when Gavin King, an experienced martial arts instructor and Shiatsu practitioner, offered me a Shiatsu massage but did not really know what to expect. I don’t have any health issues so it is always difficult for me to gauge the success of a treatment. But my massage was a pleasant and interesting experience and Gavin certainly exposed levels of tension and stress that needed to be dealt with. I left feeling a strange awareness that I found very difficult to articulate. .........More

Reviewed: by Jill Poet : April 2009

Back to top


Meditation Massage
with Sarah Yapp

Meditation MassageSarah, in her article on Meditation Massage say’s that “it is not magic, it’s simply letting go”.

Laying on the massage couch, draped in towels - soft ethereal music playing in the background. Sarah tells me to relax and concentrate on my breathing. She starts to massage my back and shoulders, finding sensitive spots that, put under pressure, are quite painful. She finds two related areas and decides to work on those.

Picture a problem in my life she says, place it in a bubble and blow it out to be swept up into a beautiful rainbow…. After a long while Sarah then replaced that which had been expelled - “Nature doesn’t like a vacuum” she says. Later, after a short relaxing meditation, I feel like a weight had been lifted from my soul ...‘not magic?
Mike

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 7. Summer 2007)

Back to top


The Alexander TechniqueThe Alexander Technique
with Elaine Bernard

Have you ever had the experience of some-one very gently laying their hands on, say your shoulder, and you reacting to that oh so gentle touch with a significant change in your posture?

Elaine Bernard gave me a short lesson to demonstrate the principles of the Alexander Technique. It was indeed brief – members of The Society of Teachers of The Alexander Technique (STAT) embark on a three year full-time training course and must reach a standard approved by the Society....... more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 1.Autumn 2005)

Back to top


Aqua Detox
with Sara de Groot

Aqua Detox machineThere are a multitude of ways to detoxify, most of them not particularly enjoyable. So how can a relaxing 30 minutes with your feet soaking in a special footbath possibly work?

What is the scientific explanation for the success of this magic detox machine? A metal coil, attached to the Detox Unit, is immersed in the warm saline water of the footbath. An electric current is created which resonates gently through the body and stimulates all the cells within it. This has the effect of re-balancing the cellular energy, thus enabling the cells to perform efficiently and to release any toxins out of the body........ more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 1.Autumn 2005)

Back to top


Kinesiology
with Margaret Bidmead

Kinesiology (pronounced KIN-EASY-OLOGY) is a natural health care system which uses simple, safe, precise muscle testing procedures to find problem areas, and uses massage, touch, nutrition, energy reflexes, and counselling to balance holistically. It combines the techniques of chiropractic with the ancient knowledge of acupuncture to help reveal the true causes of aches, pains and disease.

I met Margaret Bidmead at the ACH Complementary Health Clinic in Leigh where she finds she is able to practice in a friendly and supportive atmosphere. Margaret has been a health care professional all her working life. ........ more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 1.Autumn 2005)

Back to top


The Body Alignment & Vortex Techniques
with Celia Leslie

Mike knew I was going for a therapy session with Celia Leslie straight from a hard day’s work at my “other office”, but he was quite unprepared for the new me that arrived home a couple of hours later than usual.

I almost floated in through the front door: feeling relaxed, calm and unable to suppress my Cheshire cat like grin. “Wow – how does that therapy work?” Mike immediately wanted to know. Yet again, that was really quite difficult to answer, but it had certainly had a tremendous effect on me.. ........ more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2 .Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top


Hopi Ear Candling
Hopi Ear Candlingwith Brenda Cousins

I really was not sure that I was looking forward to seeing Brenda Cousens at the ACH Complementary Clinic for my Hopi Ear Candling. It had always sounded such an odd thing to do – a lighted candle in your ear!!!! But the reality was quite different – it was a totally relaxing and soothing experience... ........ more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2 .Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top


Cymatics, the 'Sound Way' to better health
with Dorinda Tracey

Dorinda Tracey has, like all experienced complementary therapists, a holistic approach to healing the body. She also knows that science plays its role and finds that her “magic white box”, as many of her clients call it, is extremely useful in treating a whole kaleidoscope of conditions, giving particularly good results for sports injuries, bone joint and soft tissue problems. Dorinda’s mother is a testament to the effects of the treatment – a sprightly lady in her seventies, she recently fractured her arm and doctors said her old bones would not set very well and she would lose a lot of movement. Not so once Dorinda set to work with her machine!... ........ more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 3 .Summer 2006)

Back to top


Allergy Testing The Vega Method
with Margaret Bidmead

Many of us seem to have allergies (or, more often, intolerances) to certain substances these days. Wheat and dairy are frequently cited, but sometimes the culprits are quite obscure and almost impossible for us to ascertain on our own. Reactions vary from skin rashes to headaches to behavioural problems and more. But there is no need to suffer these unpleasant reactions. Detect the substances causing the problems and avoid them while your practitioner helps you discover the underlying issues on a more holistic level. ........ more

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 5 .Winter 2006/7)

Back to top


MISCELLANEOUS


JEWELLERY OF NATURAL BEAUTY JEWELLERY OF NATURAL BEAUTY
by 'JUST PAULEENA'

An unusual ‘review’ but we were inspired by Pauleen, and loved her jewellery so much we wanted to share it with you. In Pauleen’s words:

“My inspiration to create these pieces of jewellery followed my travels through Arizona (Hopi), Mexico, Hawaii and Peru where some of the pieces that make up the jewellery are from. My love of these lands and for many of the Indigenous people I have met from each place has supported my Spiritual Unfolding and Realisation.
My journeys have led me to an even deeper trust in Nature and Love for my Guide / Teacher Mother Earth
.”

The jewellery is beautiful in its own right, but knowing each piece is made with such love and compassion makes it very precious. Why not buy some for yourself, and some for Christmas presents? The pieces are very reasonably priced and are available online at www.justpauleena.com or, if you would like to host a jewellery party, telephone Pauleen on 07749 764839.

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 5. Winter 2006/07)

Back to top


Gift of Enlightenment GAMEGift of Enlightenment
by Annette and David Martin

A board game with a difference! A beautifully designed game that we have thoroughly enjoyed playing – the first game was a little slow as we familiarised ourselves with the rules, but subsequent games were great fun, and really made Mike and I think about our attitudes and spirituality. Annette and David Martin say the game relies on players’ intuitive and telepathic powers to complete chakra challenges, overcome negativity and reach the pathway to enlightenment and a personalised oracle card reading. I think we need to practice a bit more! The game was produced “as an antidote to the video games industry” and has been “Highly Commended” by the UK’s Giftware Association in their “Gift of the Year 2005”.
The game can be purchased via the website www.giftofenlightenment.com.

Reviewed:
(Healthy Life - Mind, Body & Soul Magazine issue 2. Winter/Spring 2006)

Back to top



Disclaimer
The products, services and information advertised and publicised are not specifically endorsed by Design 2 Manage Ltd (D2M), publishers of the Healthy Life – Mind, Body & Soul website, unless stated to the contrary. All content within Healthy Life – Mind, Body & Soul is provided for general information only, and should not be treated as a substitute for the medical advice of your own doctor or any other health care professional. D2M is not responsible or liable for any diagnosis made by a user based on the content of the Healthy Life – Mind, Body & Soul website. D2M is not liable for the contents of any external internet sites listed.